Our Intention:

To open conversations about toilet equity, incorporating many perspectives and contexts, acknowledging civic sanitation awareness as a crucial element in creating inclusive cities and communities which meet the needs of all citizens and provide everyone the opportunity to participate in public life.

-Karen Lee
Introduction to the Public Toilet Equity Series, by Perth-based Karen Lee & Warsaw-based Annika Lundkvist (October 2022)

Welcome to the Pedestrian Space ‘Toilet Equity’ Roundtable series which is dedicated to creating a space for international dialogue on issues of public toilet access and maintenance in cities across the world. We are committed to and passionate about raising ‘Civic Sanitation Awareness’ through dialogue and local investigation.

-Annika Lundkvist
Screenshot from 1st Roundtable on November 15, 2022 with co-hosts Karen (Perth, Australia), Annika (Warsaw, Poland) & participants Alison (Madrid, Spain), Izabela (Łódź, Poland), Nancy (Madurai, India), Mohammad (Isfahan, Iran), Monika (Warsaw, Poland) & David (Edinburgh, Scotland)

1st Toilet Equity Roundtable hosted on November 15, 2022 by Perth-based Karen Lee & Warsaw-based Annika Lundkvist

Screenshot from 1st Toilet Equity Roundtable hosted on November 15, 2022
Screenshot from 1st Toilet Equity Roundtable hosted on November 15, 2022
Jamboard from from 1st Toilet Equity Roundtable hosted on November 15, 2022
Jamboard from from 1st Toilet Equity Roundtable hosted on November 15, 2022
Screenshot from 2nd Roundtable on November 18/19 2022 with co-hosts Karen (Perth, Australia), Annika (Warsaw, Poland) & participants Darrin (Madison, WI, USA), Tim Cunningham (NJ/NY, USA), Dylan (Toronto, ON, USA) & Peter (Sonoma County, CA, USA)
2nd Roundtable on Public Toilet Equity, November 18/19, 2022
Tweet by Dylan Reid on 2nd Roundtable

RESOURCES

BOOKS

Book: No Place To Go: How Public Toilets Fail our Private Needs, by Lezlie Lowe

ORGANIZATIONS & INITIATIVES

American Restroom Association: https://americanrestroom.org/

Bins for Blokes: https://bins4blokes.org.au/ Continence Foundation of Australia – The National Public Toilet Map: https://www.continence.org.au/national-public-toilet-map

Phlush: https://www.phlush.org/

The Toronto Public Space Committee: https://www.publicspace.ca/washroom-advocacy

United Nations, World Toilet Day: November 19th https://www.un.org/en/observances/toilet-day

World Health Organization – Who Cares About Toilets? https://www.who.int/europe/news/item/19-11-2021-who-cares-about-toilets

World Toilet Associaton: http://www.withwta.org/

World Toilet Organization: https://www.worldtoilet.org/

ARTICLES

QS Supplies. Which countries and cities have the most restrooms?

PAPERS

Anthony, K. H., & Dufresne, M. (2007). Potty Parity in Perspective: Gender and Family Issues in Planning and Designing Public Restrooms. Journal of Planning Literature, 21(3), 267–294.

Ramster, Gail & Greed, Clara & Bichard, Jo-Anne. (2018). How Inclusion can Exclude: The Case of Public Toilet Provision for Women. Built Environment.

PODCASTS

Podcast by Carolina Frossard: The City Unfinished